Active Client Locks

Client locks prevent other users from changing a client's data while another user is performing an action on a client. Once the user editing the client finishes their action, the changes to the client are saved, and then the lock releases, enabling another user to take action on the client.

In some cases, an agency administrator may need to manually release locks on a client. This could happen if a user forgets to finish their action before leaving for the day, and a different user needs to access the client. This could also happen if a technical issue causes the client lock to remain active despite the user not having the client open anymore. In these cases, a client lock can be manually released from the Agency Setup screen.

The following article is intended to help an agency administrator or manager view and release active client locks.

This task is typically performed by an Owner/Administrator or Manager.

To release active client locks

The Client Locks tab displays a list of all the active client locks in your agency.

Releasing a client lock permanently discards any unsaved changes. Before releasing the lock, confirm that the user shown on the active lock is no longer editing the client and notify them so they can save their changes.

Each active client lock has a description with the following information:

ID - The client ID number

Client Name - The name of the client that is open

Date - The date the client lock became active

Time - The time the client lock became active

Lock Age - The amount of time that the client has been locked

User - The name and initials of the user that has the client open

  1. Click the  Lock icon to release the active client lock.

    The Release Lock dialog opens stating that once a lock is released, changes that have not already been saved to the client will be lost.

    Verify that the lock you have selected is accurate before releasing it.

  2. Click Release Selected Lock.

    A notification appears stating that the client lock is released.