Inactivating a Carrier
HawkSoft enables you to inactivate a carrier from Carrier Setup. You may need to inactivate a carrier if your agency stops writing new business with that carrier, or if the carrier was created erroneously. Inactivating a carrier prevents that carrier from being selected as a carrier on any new policies, and hides the carrier in Carrier Setup, unless "Show Inactive" is checked. Existing policies under that carrier will continue to list the inactive carrier as the writing carrier until modified, either manually or by policy download. If needed, you can show inactive carriers in Carrier Setup, as well as re-activate any inactive carriers.
This task is typically performed by an Owner/Administrator, or a Manager.
To change an existing carrier to inactive
-
Cilck the
Setupicon, and then select Carrier Setup.Agency Setup opens to the Carriers tab.
-
Click on the carrier you want to inactivate.
The Editing Carrier - [carrier name] dialog opens.
-
Click the Carrier Active toggle at the top of the Carrier Info tab.
The toggle switches to 'off', and changes to "Carrier Inactive" to show that this carrier is marked inactive.
-
Click Save to confirm the change.
The carrier is now inactive, and can no longer be selected when inserting new or prospect policies.
To reactivate a carrier
In the event you start writing with this company again in the future, or if the carrier was inactivated by mistake, you can simply switch the "Carrier Inactive" option back to "Carrier Active" to re-activate the carrier.
-
Cilck the
Setupicon, and then select Carrier Setup.Agency Setup opens to the Carriers tab.
-
Select the "Show Inactive" toggle at the top of the table of carriers.
All inactive carriers can now be seen.
-
Click on the carrier you want to re-activate.
The Editing Carrier - [carrier name] dialog opens.
-
Click the Carrier Inactive slider at the top of the Carrier Info tab.
The slider switches to 'on', and changes to "Carrier Active" to show that this carrier is marked active.
-
Click Save to confirm the change.
The carrier is re-activated, and can be selected again when inserting new or prospect policies.
In order to complete this task, user permissions must be set to include:
Agency Setup > Carrier Setup
See User Permissions for more information.